School Building and Opening Hours

Plenty of style at the school building Erlenmatt.

SIS Basel is located in the district of Kleinbasel and easily accessible by public transport. The classrooms and special-purpose rooms in our landmark building have been tastefully renovated with contemporary furnishings and are equipped with advanced teaching technology. Under old chestnut trees, there is a cosy schoolyard for children to spend their time outside of school hours. Why don’t you drop by for a visit and see for yourself?

School Building

The school building Erlenmatt is centrally located in the Messequartier district of Basel, not far from the city’s large pharmaceutical companies, and easily accessible by public transport. Right next to SIS Basel is the Erlentor residential area, the site of a large public park that connects the city with the local recreational area of Lange Erlen.

The extensive facilities of the school’s listed buildings have been tastefully renovated with contemporary furnishings, fixtures and fittings. In addition to the spacious classrooms, we also have a range of special-purpose rooms such as an art studio, a well-stocked library, a science laboratory and a computer lab, where even our preschool students can sharpen their skills.

Our large sports hall and gymnastics room hosts a variety of sports lessons and competitions, and it is also where we hold our weekly school assembly for all year groups.

Our day-school structure means that our large cafeteria is a key part of school life.

Under the schoolyard’s chestnut trees, there is a playground where younger children can climb, play balancing games, or use the slide and swings. The older students can often be found playing table tennis, football or basketball. At college level, students have access to separate rooms for study and relaxation.
 

Opening Hours

At our day school, students are supervised between the hours of 7:30 a.m. and 6 p.m. The exact lesson and supervision times vary between the different levels.

Our office hours are from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday to Friday. 
 

Holiday Calendar Academic Year 2017/18

The school adheres to the official school holiday calendar of the Canton of Basel-Stadt.

Start of academic year 14 August 2017
Fall break  2 to 13 October 2017
Christmas break 25 December 2017 to 5 January 2018
Winter break 12 to 23 February 2018
Spring break 26 March to 6 April 2018
Summer break 2 July to 10 August 2018
 
School building SIS Basel
Sports lessons at SIS Basel

Schulgebäude und Öffnungszeiten

Viel Stil im Schulhaus Erlenmatt.

Die SIS Basel ist in Kleinbasel gelegen und mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln bestens erreichbar. Die Unterrichts- und Spezialräume im denkmalgeschützten Gebäude wurden sanft renoviert und sind mit zeitgemässer Infrastruktur und fortschrittlicher Unterrichtstechnologie ausgestattet. In der unterrichtsfreien Zeit bietet sich ein lauschiger Pausenplatz unter alten Kastanien an. Besuchen Sie uns und überzeugen Sie sich selbst.

Schulgebäude

Das Schulhaus Erlenmatt ist zentral im Basler Messequartier und in der Nähe der grossen Pharmaunternehmen gelegen. Es ist mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln bestens erreichbar. Direkt neben der SIS Basel liegt die Siedlung Erlentor mit einem grossen öffentlichen Park, der die Stadt mit dem Naherholungsgebiet Lange Erlen verbindet.

Die weitläufigen Räumlichkeiten im denkmalgeschützten Gebäude wurden sanft renoviert und mit zeitgemässer Infrastruktur ausgestattet. Neben geräumigen Schulzimmern verfügen wir über verschiedene Spezialräume wie ein Kunstatelier, eine gut ausgestattete Bibliothek, ein Labor und ein Informatikzimmer, das bereits von unseren Vorschulkindern besucht wird.

In unserer grossen Turnhalle und im Gymnastikraum finden neben dem Sportunterricht und Turnieren in verschiedenen Sportarten unsere wöchentlichen stufenübergreifenden Schulversammlungen statt.

Selbstverständlich gehört zu unserer Tagesschul-Struktur einer grosse Mensa und ein Pausenkiosk.

Auf dem Pausenplatz unter den Kastanienbäumen bietet ein Abenteuerspielplatz Möglichkeiten zum Klettern, Balancieren, Rutschen und Schaukeln. Die älteren Kinder spielen gerne Tischtennis, Fussball oder Basketball. Für die Gymnasiastinnen und Gymnasiasten gibt es eigene Aufenthalts- und Studienräume.
 

Öffnungszeiten

Wir betreuen die Kinder in unserem Tagesschul-Betrieb von 7:30 bis 18 Uhr. Die genauen Unterrichts- und Betreuungszeiten variieren zwischen den Schulstufen.

Das Sekretariat ist montags bis freitags von 8 bis 17 Uhr geöffnet.
 

Ferienkalender Schuljahr 2016/17

Es gilt der offizielle Schulferienkalender des Kantons Basel-Stadt.

Schuljahresbeginn 15. August 2016
Herbstferien 3. bis 14. Oktober 2016
Weihnachstferien 26. Dezember 2016 bis 2. Januar 2017
Sportferien 27. Februar bis 10. März 2017
Frühlingsferien 10. bis 21. April 2017
Sommerferien 3. Juli bis 11. August 2017
 
Schulgebäude SIS Basel
Sportunterricht an der SIS Basel