Secondary School

Yes to bilingual education, but college is not the only way...

Following primary school, SIS Basel offers a two-year bilingual Secondary School programme as an alternative to the college path. At our Secondary School, students are prepared for continuing their education at college.

English and German are equally important, both as languages of instruction and in other parts of day-to-day school life. Generally, each subject is taught exclusively in one language at least for the duration of one academic year. However, great care is taken to ensure that our students learn important specialist vocabulary in both languages and that the overall distribution of subjects in German and English is as equal as possible.

Computer Skills and Language Certificates

In addition to gaining the ability to participate in multilingual classes in a natural way, our students acquire solid and hands-on computer skills as well. They also enjoy a general education that is both broad and deep and have the opportunity to prepare for language certificates in English and French.
 

Benchmarking Tests

Our students sit national and international benchmarking tests on a regular basis. Some students also take part in international competitions in mathematics, history and other subjects.
 

Transfer to College

SIS Basel offers two paths for students wishing to continue their education after finishing secondary school:

  • Students whose performance meets the necessary requirements can transfer to the Bilingual College without needing to sit admission examinations. After another four years, they can graduate with the Swiss bilingual Matura and, optionally, the International Baccalaureate Diploma (IB).
  • Students can transfer to our International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme, which, if successfully completed after three years, qualifies them for admission to university studies in Switzerland or abroad.

 

Students listening to teacher at SIS Swiss International School
Students working at SIS Swiss International School

Sekundarschule

Zweisprachigkeit ja, aber es muss nicht in jedem Fall das Gymnasium sein…

Als Alternative zum gymnasialen Weg führt die SIS Basel als Fortsetzung ihrer Primarschule eine zweisprachige Sekundarschule, die zwei Jahre dauert und Schülerinnen und Schülern mit Berechtigung für die Züge A, E und P offen steht. Hier bereiten wir die Jugendlichen auf ihren weiteren schulischen Weg im Gymnasium oder auf den Lehrgang zum International Baccalaureate (IB) vor.

Englisch und Deutsch sind gleichberechtigte Unterrichts- und Arbeitssprachen. Meist ist einem Fach eine Sprache zugeordnet, mindestens für die Dauer eines Schuljahres. Wir achten darauf, dass unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler den relevanten Fachwortschatz in beiden Sprachen erwerben und dass die Fächer zu möglichst gleichen Anteilen in beiden Sprachen erteilt werden.

Computerpraxis und Sprachdiplome

Neben der Kompetenz, spontan am mehrsprachigen Unterricht teilzunehmen, erwerben unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler fundierte, praxisorientierte Computerkenntnisse. Sie kommen in den Genuss einer weitgefächerten und vertieften Allgemeinbildung und haben die Gelegenheit, sich auf Sprachdiplome in Englisch und Französisch vorzubereiten.
 

Vergleichsprüfungen

Wir führen kontinuierlich nationale und internationale Vergleichsprüfungen durch. Einige Schülerinnen und Schüler nehmen auch an internationalen Wettbewerben in Mathematik, Geschichte und anderen Fächern teil.
 

Weiter im Gymnasium

Die SIS Basel bietet zwei Wege an, den schulischen Weg nach der Sekundarschule fortzusetzen:

  • Weisen die Lernenden den dafür geforderten Leistungsstand nach, können sie prüfungsfrei an das Bilingual College wechseln. Dieses schliesst nach vier weiteren Jahren mit der Schweizerischen Maturität und optional auch mit dem International Baccalaureate (IB) ab.

  • Sie bleiben in unserem Lehrgang zum International Baccalaureate und erreichen in vier weiteren Jahren die internationale Hochschulreife.

 

Studenten hören der Lehrerin zu an der SIS Swiss International School
Schülerinnen am arbeiten an der SIS Swiss International School