Primary School

Our students, bilingual education and a healthy performance-based approach are central to teaching and learning at SIS.

At our bilingual Primary School, teaching is based on the curriculum of the canton of Zürich. This state curriculum is supplemented by elements of international educational practice as well as by pedagogical standards developed by SIS. By attending our Primary School, children are ideally prepared for the transition into our Bilingual College at SIS Zürich. Students can transfer from and into the public school system at any time.

Bilingual Instruction

Each of our primary school classes has two teachers: one is a native speaker of German, the other a native speaker of English. The development of language skills in German and English is of paramount importance at this level, which is why we have developed our own bilingual reading and writing curricula. Furthermore, subjects such as mathematics or humanities are taught in both languages, ensuring that our students acquire a broad vocabulary. Additionally, French is taught as a foreign language from grade 5.
 

Engaging and Varied Lessons

In our goal-oriented lessons, we use modern equipment and different learning styles. Working with tablets and interactive boards, for example, enables students to acquire new knowledge in a playful manner and helps them deepen their understanding of what they have already learnt.
 

Further Activities

Our school life is enriched by our various project weeks and by our multi-class school assemblies that strengthen our school community. Educational excursions to the immediate surroundings further motivate students to learn more about certain subjects.
 

Benchmarking Tests

From grade 3 onwards, our students sit national and international benchmarking tests, in which they regularly achieve very good results.
 

Transfer to SIS Bilingual College without Admission Examinations

SIS Primary School students who achieve the necessary grade average can transfer to the Bilingual College at SIS Zürich without needing to sit admission examinations.
 

Day School Structure

Lessons take place from 8:45 a.m. to 3:15 p.m., and school days are divided into regular intervals with time for learning, play and recreation. We also offer after school homework supervision from 3:30 p.m. to 4:15 p.m. From 4:15 p.m. to 6 p.m. children can choose from our varied selection of clubs or use this time to read, play, cultivate friendships, or relax.
 

Boys singing at SIS Swiss International School
Cheerful girl at SIS Swiss International School

Primarschule

Die Lernenden, Zweisprachigkeit und eine gesunde Leistungsorientierung stehen im Mittelpunkt unserer Anstrengungen.

Der Unterricht an unserer zweisprachigen Primarschule beruht auf dem kantonalen Lehrplan. Diesen ergänzen wir um Elemente internationaler Pädagogik sowie um SIS-eigene Entwicklungen. Die Kinder werden in unserer Primarschule ideal auf den Besuch unseres bilingualen Gymnasiums vorbereitet. Ein Wechsel aus oder zu öffentlichen Schulen ist jederzeit möglich.

Zweisprachiger Unterricht

Jede unserer Primarschulklassen hat eine deutsch- und eine englischsprachige Lehrperson. Die Entwicklung von Sprachkompetenzen in beiden Sprachen ist auf dieser Stufe von vorrangiger Bedeutung. Deshalb haben wir eigene zweisprachige Lese- und Schreibcurricula entwickelt. Auch Fächer wie Mathematik oder der Fächerverbund „Mensch und Umwelt“ werden in beiden Sprachen unterrichtet, um zu gewährleisten, dass unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler einen breiten Wortschatz erwerben. Ab der 5. Primarklasse unterrichten wir zusätzlich Französisch als Fremdsprache.
 

Abwechslungsreicher Unterricht

Wir arbeiten im Unterricht mit moderner Infrastruktur und wenden verschiedene Lernformen an. In den zielorientierten Lektionen eignen sich die Kinder auf spielerische Weise neues Wissen an oder vertiefen bereits Gelerntes. Unter anderem arbeiten sie mit Tablets und einer interaktiven Wandtafel.
 

Weitere Aktivitäten

Unsere verschiedenen Projektwochen bereichern das Schulleben ebenso wie die stufenübergreifenden Schulversammlungen, welche die Schulgemeinschaft stärken. Zudem motivieren Lernausflüge in die nähere Umgebung die Kinder bei einzelnen Themen.
 

Vergleichsprüfungen

Ab der dritten Primarklasse führen wir nationale und internationale Vergleichsprüfungen durch, an denen unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler regelmässig sehr gute Resultate erzielen.
 

Prüfungsfrei ins SIS-Gymnasium

Schülerinnen und Schüler unserer Primarschule, die einen entsprechenden Notendurchschnitt aufweisen, können prüfungsfrei an das Bilingual College der SIS Zürich wechseln.
 

Tagesschul-Betrieb

Der Unterricht findet von 8:45 bis 15:15 Uhr statt, rhythmisiert durch den Wechsel von Lern-, Spiel- und Pausenzeiten. Von 15:30 bis 16:15 Uhr bieten wir eine betreute Hausaufgabenstunde an. Anschliessend werden die Kinder bis 18 Uhr betreut. Sie können lesen, spielen, Freundschaften pflegen oder sich ausruhen. Zudem bieten wir an verschiedenen Tagen attraktive Kurse an.
 

Jungen am singen an der SIS Swiss International School
Fröhliches Mädchen an der SIS Swiss International School