Primary School

Our students, bilingual education and a healthy performance-based approach are central to teaching and learning at SIS.

At our bilingual Primary School, teaching is based on the cantonal curriculum. This state curriculum is supplemented by elements of international educational practice as well as by pedagogical standards developed by SIS. By attending our Primary School, children are ideally prepared for the transition into our Bilingual College at SIS Zürich. Students can transfer from and into the public school system at any time.

Bilingual Education

Each of our primary school classes has two teachers: one is a native speaker of German, the other a native speaker of English. The development of language skills in German and English is of paramount importance at this level, which is why we have developed our own bilingual reading and writing curricula. Furthermore, subjects such as mathematics or humanities are taught in both languages, ensuring that our students acquire a broad vocabulary. Additionally, French is taught as a foreign language from grade 5.
 

Engaging and Varied Lessons

In our lessons, we use different learning styles supported by state-of-the-art infrastructure. Students learn with the help of new technologies, such as tablets, laptops or online platforms and present their work on an interactive board. However, “conventional” lessons also have their place.
 

Further Activities

To foster a sense of community and social learning, we organise various events throughout all school levels. Besides several school assemblies throughout the year, our school life is enriched by project weeks, sports and snow days, lectures by authors, as well as our Christmas concert and our summer celebration. A valuable contribution to our community spirit comes from our committed students council that regularly orchestrates activities for the whole school, such as school competitions, a flea market, exchange platforms or other events.
 

Benchmarking Tests

From grade 3 onwards, our students sit national and international benchmarking tests, in which they regularly achieve very good results.
 

Transfer to SIS Bilingual College without Admission Examinations

SIS Primary School students who achieve the necessary grade average can transfer to the SIS Bilingual College without needing to sit admission examinations.
 

Preparation Course for the Public College Entrance Exams

For sixth graders, we offer a preparation course for the public college entrance exams. In our course, we repeat and study all subjects of the entrance exams and have students experience at least two test exams.
 

Day School Structure

SIS Zürich-Wollishofen opens at 7 a.m. and offers a breakfast club until 7:30 a.m. Care is offered after 7:30 a.m., and teachers await students from 8 a.m. onwards. Lessons take place from 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m., and school days are divided into regular intervals with time for learning, play and recreation. We also offer after school homework supervision from 3 p.m. to 4 p.m. From 4 p.m. to 6 p.m., children who want to stay after school can choose from a varied selection of clubs.
 

Lachender Junge an der SIS Swiss International School
Girl is thinking at SIS Swiss International School

Primarschule

Die Lernenden, Zweisprachigkeit und eine gesunde Leistungsorientierung stehen im Mittelpunkt unserer Anstrengungen.

Der Unterricht an unserer zweisprachigen Primarschule beruht auf dem kantonalen Lehrplan. Diesen ergänzen wir um Elemente internationaler Pädagogik sowie um SIS-eigene Entwicklungen. Die Kinder werden in unserer Primarschule ideal auf den Besuch unseres bilingualen Gymnasiums vorbereitet. Ein Wechsel aus oder zu öffentlichen Schulen ist jederzeit möglich.

Zweisprachiger Unterricht

Jede unserer Primarschulklassen hat eine deutsch- und eine englischsprachige Lehrperson. Die Entwicklung von Sprachkompetenzen in beiden Sprachen ist auf dieser Stufe von vorrangiger Bedeutung. Deshalb haben wir eigene zweisprachige Lese- und Schreibcurricula entwickelt. Auch Fächer wie Mathematik oder der Fächerverbund „Mensch und Umwelt“ werden in beiden Sprachen unterrichtet, um zu gewährleisten, dass unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler einen breiten Wortschatz erwerben. Ab der 5. Primarklasse unterrichten wir zusätzlich Französisch als Fremdsprache.
 

Abwechslungsreicher Unterricht

Wir arbeiten im Unterricht mit moderner Infrastruktur und wenden verschiedene Lernformen an. Zum einen erlernen und vertiefen die Schülerinnen und Schüler die Lerninhalte mit Hilfe von neuen Technologien wie Tablets, Laptops oder Online-Übungsplattformen und  präsentieren ihre Arbeiten mit der interaktiven Wandtafel.  Zum anderen findet auch der „klassische“ Unterricht seinen Platz.
 

Weitere Aktivitäten

Zur Förderung der Schulgemeinschaft und des sozialen Lernens führen wir mehrere gesamtschulische Anlässe durch. Nebst mehreren Schulversammlungen pro Jahr finden Projektwochen, Sport- und Schneetage, Autorenlesungen sowie unser Weihnachtskonzert und das Sommerfest statt. Wertvolle Arbeit leistet auch unser engagierter Schülerrat, der immer wieder Aktivitäten wie Turniere, Flohmarkt, Tauschbörsen oder Anlässe für die ganze Schule organisiert. Auch dies fördert den Gemeinschaftssinn.
 

Vergleichsprüfungen

Ab der dritten Primarklasse führen wir nationale und internationale Vergleichsprüfungen durch, an denen unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler regelmässig sehr gute Resultate erzielen.
 

Prüfungsfrei ins SIS-Gymnasium

Schülerinnen und Schüler unserer Primarschule, die einen entsprechenden Notendurchschnitt aufweisen, können prüfungsfrei an das Bilingual College der SIS Zürich wechseln.
 

Vorbereitung auf die gymnasiale Aufnahmeprüfung

Unseren Schülerinnen und Schülern der 6. Klasse bieten wir einen Vorbereitungskurs für die Aufnahmeprüfung zum öffentlichen Gymnasium an. Im Kurs werden alle Themen der Aufnahmeprüfung aufgearbeitet. Ausserdem finden mindestens zwei Prüfungssimulationen statt.
 

Tagesschul-Betrieb

Um 7 Uhr öffnet die SIS Zürich-Wollishofen ihre Türen und bietet bis 7:30 Uhr einen Frühstücks-Club an.

Um 7:30 Uhr beginnt die Auffangzeit, ab 8 Uhr warten die Lehrpersonen auf die Kinder. Der Unterricht findet von 8:30 bis 15 Uhr statt, rhythmisiert durch den Wechsel von Lern-, Spiel- und Pausenzeiten. Von 15 bis 16 Uhr bieten wir eine betreute Hausaufgabenstunde an. Von 16 bis 18 Uhr organisiert unser Betreuungsteam verschiedene Aktivitäten für die Kinder, die nach der Schule noch bleiben möchten.

 

Smiling boy at SIS Swiss International School
Mädchen studiert an der SIS Swiss International School