Secondary School

Yes to bilingual education, but college is not the only way...

As an alternative to the college path, students can continue their education after primary school with our three-year bilingual secondary school programme. At our Secondary School, students are prepared for a demanding apprenticeship or for continuing their education at college. 

English and German are equally important, both as languages of instruction and in other parts of day-to-day school life. Generally, each subject is taught exclusively in one language at least for the duration of one academic year. However, great care is taken that our students learn important specialist vocabulary in both languages and that the overall distribution of subjects in German and English is as equal as possible.

Computer Skills and Language Certificates

In addition to gaining the ability to participate in multilingual classes in a natural way, our students acquire solid and hands-on computer skills as well. They also enjoy a general education that is both broad and deep, and have the opportunity to prepare for language certificates in English and French.
 

Transfer to SIS College

SIS Secondary School students whose performance meets the necessary requirements can transfer to our Bilingual College without needing to sit admission examinations.
 

College student at SIS Swiss International School
Listening attentively at SIS Swiss International School

Sekundarschule

Zweisprachigkeit ja, aber es muss nicht in jedem Fall das Gymnasium sein…

Als Alternative zum gymnasialen Weg führen wir als Fortsetzung der Primarschule eine zweisprachige Sekundarschule, die drei Jahre dauert. Hier bereiten wir Jugendliche auf ihren weiteren schulischen Weg im Gymnasium oder auf eine anspruchsvolle Berufslehre vor.

Englisch und Deutsch sind gleichberechtigte Unterrichts- und Arbeitssprachen. Meist ist einem Fach eine Sprache zugeordnet, mindestens für die Dauer eines Schuljahres. Wir achten darauf, dass unsere Schülerinnen und Schüler den relevanten Fachwortschatz in beiden Sprachen erwerben und dass die Fächer zu möglichst gleichen Anteilen in beiden Sprachen erteilt werden.

Computerpraxis und Sprachdiplome

Neben der Kompetenz, spontan am mehrsprachigen Unterricht teilzunehmen, erwerben unsere Lernenden fundierte, praxisorientierte Computerkenntnisse. Sie kommen in den Genuss einer weitgefächerten und vertieften Allgemeinbildung und haben die Gelegenheit, sich auf Sprachdiplome in Englisch und Französisch vorzubereiten.
 

Weiter im Gymnasium

Weisen die Schülerinnen und Schüler den dafür geforderten Leistungsstand nach, können sie im Anschluss an die Sekundarschule prüfungsfrei an unser Bilingual College übertreten.
 

Gymnasiumsschüler an der SIS Swiss International School
Aufmerksam zuhören an der SIS Swiss International School